Scripture Memorization Initiative: Verse #4

Confession: the first three verses were not that hard.  Adding a fourth without forgetting verses one thru three…pretty hard.

Maybe that’s why I only got this far when I tried to do this in 2013.

But, my confession continues: it’s probably hard because I’m only spending a few minutes each week reading and saying my verses.

In 2010, I had great success with Bible verse memorization because I recorded myself speaking verses onto a small, handheld, digital recorder and during my commute to and from work, I would play back my recordings and work on getting the verses down pat.  I racked up probably twenty verses that I could quote with ease – and many of them I still can.  During late 2010 and early 2011, I was immersed in the Word a lot and The Lord was making Himself easily found by me.  It was a sweet season.

But, I digress, my choice for verse four is:

“Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began.” ~ Psalm 139:16 HCSB

IMG_3488

I chose this verse because in a conversation with a dear lady and new friend from church, she quoted this Bible verse and explained that this verse changed how she began to pray for herself and the day ahead of her.  She said, “Now I pray, ‘Lord, let me walk out what you’ve already written. I want to be on the page of the book that You’ve written for my life.'”

That was so profound to me that I came home and looked up the verse and it felt like a rhema word for me so I chose it for my memory verse.

IMG_3487

