Scripture Memorization Initiative: Verses #2 and #3

The second verse I chose to memorize was:

IMG_3412

Return to your rest, my soul, for the Lord has been good to you. ~ Psalm 116:7

I wanted something simple yet powerful to meditate on while I went to doctor’s appointments, faced a blood draw, IV and surgery.

Indeed the Lord has been good to me.  Today was my post-op doctor’s appointment where I received excellent news.  There were no cancer, pre-cancer or abnormal cells found in any of the tissue removed during surgery.  None.  Completely clear.

I thank and praise The Lord for this huge answer to prayer.  But, it was actually the very small errand that I ran after my doctor’s appointment that made me realize how ever-present and aware God is of me.  I needed to get a bulb replaced in my car’s headlamp.  My cell phone battery was dead so I couldn’t use Siri to supply me with directions to the car dealership.  I knew where I was.  I knew where the dealership was, but I didn’t know how to get from one place to the other.  Sounds silly I know, but I didn’t know the shortest or best route, just a really long circular way.  So, I set out driving and made a left turn and then a right to get off of small side streets and onto larger thorough-fares.  When after only a few minutes of driving what do I see?  A Honda sign.  A Honda service center, a satellite location, under the same umbrella of ownership as the dealership I always go to.  I never knew it was there.  I had only driven minutes from the doctor’s office, instead of the 45 minutes I had originally intended.

And this story may seem so pointless to anyone else, but in that moment, I felt very SEEN by my God.  In my gray Honda driving down Fairbanks Avenue, God in Heaven sees me and is aware of all of my needs.  Even when it’s just to get a headlight changed.

The third verse that I have chosen to memorize is:

IMG_3440

Consider Him, who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself, so that you won’t grow weary and lose heart. ~ Hebrews 12:3

This world will make you weary.  This world can make you lose heart.  Last week I was reading and this verse jumped out at me.  I don’t know if I ever read it before.

Consider Him.

Consider Jesus.

