January Recap

It appears as though 2015 is determined to move along just as fast as 2014.  January has sped by, but it was a very good month.  Funny, at times during the month I would not have described it as a good month, but now, hours away from February, my perspective has changed.

The second Scripture verse I set out to memorize this month is Psalm 116:7.  I chose it specifically so that I would have something simple, brief, yet powerful to meditate on while undergoing doctor’s appointments, lab work and surgery.

IMG_3412

I had surgery on the 21st and I feel much better on the other side of the procedure.  I confess to complaining, worrying and altogether resenting this interruption to my version of normal life.  I saw it as inconvenient, expensive and unwanted.  But really, I’m privileged and blessed to have healthcare available to me.  I also have a new, kind doctor who brings a fresh set of eyes to my case and is suggesting treatment no other doctor has ever suggested before.  I have every reason to believe that this whole ordeal (which started at the beginning of December) is the beginning of better, ongoing health for me.

Having surgery brought about a major, unexpected blessing: my Colorado BFF came into town to stay with me and care for me.  Her plane ticket was purchased a mere eight days in advance, so it was a definite surprise.  We had the best time together and I cried when I dropped her off at the airport.  We were together for five days, had makeup on for two of those days and never stopped to take a picture except for this selfie at airport curbside check-in at 5AM!

IMG_3430

Deb was in town over a Sunday and therefore she got to partake in one of the highlights of my week: Downton Abbey on PBS.  We decided to go all out, order Chinese delivery and watch the show with our PJ’s on while sitting in my bed with our dinner on trays.  It was utterly delightful.

I haven’t written about Downton since episode one, so here’s just some of my thoughts, so far.  I’m disappointed in Lady Mary.  I think she’s making a real mess of things and it was in such poor taste go out to dinner with Mr. Blake and speak of Lord Gillingham.  Tacky.  I also felt it was quite inappropriate to task Anna with purchasing contraceptives and now to store them / it in her cottage.  Mr. Bates is going to find them / it, and question his wife.  Anna deserves better than that.  The investigation into the death of Alex Green is far from over and previews of upcoming episodes make it appear as though Anna is fingered for it.  If it goes in that direction, I believe the rape will come out and how things unfold from there is anyone’s guess.  I don’t know what Thomas is up to, but it’s no good.  And then there’s Miss Bunting.  {Bates, could you push Miss Bunting in front of a trolley car, please?}  My complaints regarding Miss Bunting are too many to name, but my overarching issue with it all is that I don’t really know how Tom feels about her.  Rose seems to be the one orchestrating all of the invites… Does Tom really enjoy her company?  You don’t expect me to believe that Tom is not embarrassed by her rude behavior?  Edith is a mess and for the first time in a while, she referenced new information concerning the whereabouts of Gregson.  Is he going to resurface as a ‘brown shirt’?  And lastly, Isobelle.  The marriage proposal by Lord Merton was so genuine, so touching, I truly hope she accepts.  I love Isobelle’s character and I want to see good things come her way.

Also, before I forget, congratulations to Joanne Froggat for her Golden Globe win!  She won for her portrayal of Anna Bates during season 4.  Well done and well deserved!

IMG_3404

This little pic landed on Twitter.  Fish lips.  Cute.

Downton was nominated for “Best TV Series: Drama” but did not win.  Also, the ever-fabulous James Spader was nominated for his portrayal of Raymond Reddington on The Blacklist, but he didn’t win either.  Instead, Kevin Spacey took it for House of Cards.

My car got four new tires and it’s first car wash since the summer of 2013.  That’s embarrassing.

IMG_3414

IMG_3415

 

 

 

 

 

 

A duck has built a nest barely ten feet from my front door.  We started with three eggs.  Then day by day, it grew to 18 eggs.

IMG_3436

Now, in the mornings, Mama Duck is sitting on the eggs, but before this week, I hadn’t seen her at all.  Dad hangs around my building quite frequently though and I’ve even fed him bread before.

IMG_3420

January wrapped up with a job interview for one of the best positions I’ve ever interviewed for; and even better than the position, it’s working for a Christian ministry.  To say I want this job is an understatement.  I pray an offer comes my way this upcoming week.

No matter what, I rest in the sovereignty of God.

It’s also been one month since my Beau had a health crisis which landed him at the emergency animal hospital.  I really thought this was the end, but I guess not.  Are you on life eight or nine, Beau?

IMG_3359

Be at rest, my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.

