Scripture Memorization Initiative: Verse #1

I am joining in with 17,000+ women worldwide to memorize 24 Bible passages during 2015.  This initiative is sponsored by Beth Moore, who is doing the same thing along with us.  Beth posts twice monthly on her blog and shares a word of encouragement along with the verse that she has chosen to memorize herself.

I attempted to do this in 2013 but only got as far as 3 verses.  Oops.

Additionally, I have four friends locally who are participating.

This is the first verse I chose to memorize:

“In the morning You hear my voice, O Lord; in the morning I prepare a prayer for You and watch and wait for You to speak to my heart.” ~ Psalm 5:3 Amplified

Isn’t that beautiful?  But more than just the poetry of it, I am still, yes, still, inconsistent about a morning quiet time with The Lord and so the emphasis of the word morning in this passage is especially key to me.

I find that on days when I’ve prioritized time in the Word and prayer, I’m so much more aware of His presence all around me throughout the day.  In addition to awareness, I’m much more inclined to call out to Him on the spur of the moment.  But when I stay in bed until the last possible minute, causing a rushed morning, or even worse, when I waste 20 minutes checking email or social media in the morning, it’s as though I stifle my awareness of Him or my need for Him because I feel guilty about how poorly I prioritized my morning routine.

No, I’m not in a relationship with a ritual-bound God, whereby I must pray a certain way for a certain length of time otherwise He won’t hear me.  Thank God the veil was torn and I can enter into the Holy of Holies at any time, but love for The Lord is shown through obedience, through choices.

So, I thought this verse would be a good foundation to meditate on, to confess and to act upon.

Interesting also, to consider The Message paraphrase of the same verse: “Every morning I lay out the pieces of my life on your altar and watch for fire to descend.”

