New Year, Same Week

“There’s no power in the clock tonight.  If your heart is wrong at 11:59, it’ll be wrong at 12:01.  Only the power of God can change a heart, not a clock on the wall.” ~ Kirk Franklin

Here we are moments away from a New Year, and yet it’s just going from Wednesday to Thursday.  It’s a new year, but it’s the same week.

This time last year, as our calendars were flipping from ’13 to ’14, I made the decision to let go and walk away from a several-months-long fight with my former landlords over my security deposit.  After over six years of being, what I thought was a great tenant, I was astonished, hurt and angry that they were withholding a sizeable refund.  I spent dozens of hours documenting my cooperative and compliant tenancy and pouring over Florida Statutes but as time went by, it became clear I was fighting a battle I was not going to win.  I remember sitting at my laptop, composing a rebuttal, pictures, receipts and documentation spread out all over my bed and it was as if the Holy Spirit took me from a posture of being crouched forward, shoulders hunched over the keyboard, to sitting back in my seat, taking a deep breath.  What if I just let this go?  (And I hadn’t even seen Frozen back then!)  What if I just choose to not carry this forward into 2014?  And that’s what I decided to do.

Funny, I had no idea that 2014 would bring even larger astonishments and heartache.

I’ve been meditating on this verse for months now: “If we are unfaithful, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny who He is.” ~ 2 Timothy 2:13

I’m unfaithful in thousands of different ways: large and small; but I take refuge and find utter relief knowing that He is completely faithful and completely unchanging.  “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.” ~ Hebrews 13:8

God is also completely sovereign.  Everything that happened this past year, He was in control of and permitted.  He is a good God with good plans for my life and even the hard and unpleasant events, He can and will bring good out of.  But I have to persevere.  I think that’s a big key in the good being drawn out of the not-so-good.  “If we endure hardship, we will reign with Him.” ~ 2 Timothy 2:12a

So while I love the fresh start and blank slate associated with New Years, I’m utterly dependent upon the new mercy and fresh grace He supplies me daily.

IMG_3370

As the hands on my clock sweep round and around, sweeping change from year to year is because of the hand of God in my life.  Thank you, Jesus, for loving me and flooding my life with hope.

