Ten Years

It’s been ten years since you’ve been gone, Grandaddy. I think of you often and miss you.

I’m different than I was ten years ago. Age and life experiences have changed me some. God is changing me too. If I knew then what I know now, I would have prayed for you more, talked with you about Jesus more. And I would have insisted that you have a little pet. Probably a cat. I think a little furry creature with endless amounts of loyalty and love would have done you a world of good. I’m sorry I didn’t think of that sooner.

I’ve inherited traits from you. I appreciate excellent music and a chair that elevates my feet unlike ever before. I love tuna fish and don’t mind eating the same thing over and over and over again. I believe in taking care of my belongings and making them last. And I believe in getting to the airport early. (But that last one, it took nearly missing not one, but TWO flights before I adopted that tenet.)

If you were here, you’d be unhappy with this world. I’m unhappy with it too. But, it’s not my home, you see, so I don’t despair.

I do wonder where you are spending eternity. I frown a little at my uncertainty regarding you. I am certain that I will spend eternity in Heaven. I do not say that boastfully. I say that gratefully. My salvation through the Lord Jesus Christ is a miracle.

I love you, Grandaddy. I miss hearing you call me Sweetheart Darlin’. Thank you for loving me so well.

IMG_3284

