Thanksgiving at Work

Today, the Division that I work in came together to celebrate Thanksgiving with a covered dish lunch. I entered the day a little melancholy because I still miss my old job, my old office and my old work friends. I always enjoyed planning our holiday celebrations, to include games and surprises and I was feeling a little twinge of loss.

And then I walked into work today and saw this.

IMG_0430

Folks spent their own money to purchase these decorations. I watched a supervisor who stays locked in his office all day every day hang decorations, smile and kid. I thought to myself, “That’s a side of him I’ve never seen before.” And holidays have a wonderful way of doing that.

We gathered for the meal and our Division Manager stood up and spoke a few words. He acknowledged the staff that were not with us, either due to family commitments or those recently retired. He recognized a few employees who will be retiring in the upcoming month. He thanked us for our efforts and reminded us to be thankful and enjoy our families and loved ones.

And then…

And then…

…he asked for an employee to volunteer to pray a blessing before we ate.

And a man prayed for local Government, our Nation, our Armed Forces, peace in the Middle East and for the employees in the room. In Jesus’ Name.

In Jesus’ Name.

And I was so surprised and amazed that with my head bowed and my eyes closed my heart just welled up at this reminder that God is in control and He is bigger than political correctness.

In a secular environment, I witnessed a leader prioritize God.

And that’s Thanksgiving at work.

