When My Soul Goes Home

There was a time when I did not long for the return of Jesus.

There was a time when I did not look forward to Heaven.

I thought I’d be missing out on something.

I wanted to experience love and marriage, motherhood and success before being subjected to never-ending harp music and whatever else I misunderstood Heaven to be.

Now, I long for Heaven.  I long to walk with Jesus in the cool of the evening like Adam once did.  I was made for Heaven.  I was made for unbroken, unbridled fellowship, intimacy even, with Jesus.

Living on this earth as a foreigner can make you weary.

I’ve heard this song two dozen times, at least.  But tonight, I listened closely… and wept.

A bit of the lyrics that just moved me… “I understand that shadows flee and everywhere is LIGHT, but what about the moon and stars and dreams I dream at night? … I never thought I loved the earth, until I held Your Hand.  I felt you take my heart and you made me understand that God is love and touching Him was also touching man… So dance in the grass, let the Word become flesh and wash the world in song… And thank the God of Heaven ‘n Earth until my soul goes home…”

This song is so beautiful and it stirs deep within me a longing this earth will never satisfy.  I weep too because of the beauty of this song…realizing that all of the talent that wrote and crafted this piece (and so much more of the musical art I enjoy daily) pales in comparison to the sounds of Heaven.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him.”

