Nightsounds

They say it takes doing something repeatedly at least twenty-one times to form a habit.

I have a new habit.  I listen to Nightsounds while falling asleep every night.

And sometimes I put it on before taking a nap (like today).

And sometimes I put it on when I recline in my chair and I’m going to just rest my eyes for a bit.

My Mother used to put the radio program Nightsounds on when I was a little girl.  I can remember us being in my bedroom in our house in Miami Florida.  I was laying in bed and she was sitting on the side of my bed.  The theme music was playing (Beau Soir by Claude Debussy) and she was describing heaven to me, painting a picture with her words.  The music sounds like a choir of angels…and with a crescendo the angels trumpet the appearance of Jesus.

Well, nearly twenty five or so years have passed since that childhood memory and I can’t say as though I had thought about Nightsounds much at all since then.  Until…a friend posted about the Nightsounds app on Instagram…how you could listen anytime you wanted on either your phone or tablet.  I was so excited, but I don’t think I realized just how much this program would minister to me.

IMG_3129

With each program, Bill Pearce blends soft music with insightful narrative all related to a pre-determined theme.  You can tell Bill puts a lot of thought and prayer into his programs and has a real passion for his listeners and Christ.  It’s been about two months since I discovered the app (thank you, Marilyn) and I turn it on almost every day.

Falling asleep, or resting, with soft music playing is not a new trend for me.  For years, I’ve put Cathy Duplantis’ The Healing Word on repeat all night long.

healingword

Recently, I was at a girl’s small group and the topic of bedtime routines came up and each one of us grabbed our phones and showed the other what we fall asleep too.  For one girl, it was Psalm 91 in the Amplified Bible being read aloud, for another it was an app where she could customize and layer together nature sounds, for another it was Kenneth Copeland reading Scripture.  But, we each fall asleep to something, and we each know the value of having edifying media wash over us before and during our sleep.

Well, it’s almost time for bed.  What a blessing it is to have a safe home, a comfortable bed, a climate-controlled atmosphere, technology that allows me Nightsounds or other media at my fingertips, my precious furry pets, and the righteousness of Jesus imputed to me allowing me to rest knowing I’m forgiven and saved.

